Twinings Stole

With one week to spare the Twinings Stole is finished and blocked.  I hope my friend likes it.  Right now I am having those lingering doubts that I always have just before ‘gifting’ my knitting to someone.  I will tell her that if it is not what she had hoped for I will not be offended if she does not wear it at the wedding.  She has admired all of my shawls so I am certain she will wear this on another occasion if not the wedding.

The blue dress is not the one she will be wearing, hers is a grape color.  I think the ‘Vanilla’ color will look prettier on grape.  My friend had asked that the color would match the pearls she will be wearing.

This stole was knit in two pieces from the hem to the center back and then grafted together.  The grafting was not fun at all and, in the future,  I will go to all lengths to avoid a pattern that does this technique.  I’m really don’t understand why one couldn’t knit this all in one piece.  It is very similar to the Virtual Yarns stole I knit last year.  It wasn’t pieced and looked fine.

Enough grumbling.  I enjoyed knitting this pattern and will most likely knit it again.

Pattern: Twinings (Knitspot) (Ravelry)

Yarn: Jaggerspun Wool/Silk

Finished Size: 21″ W x 78″ L (petite size)

Needles: Size 6 (4mm) Harmony Straights

16 thoughts on “Twinings Stole

  1. It is beautiful! I’m sure your friend will love it. The color is amazing… ethereal.

    I am with you on grafting shawls…. one of my biggest pet peeves.

  2. It’s really lovely! Normally I don’t mind grafting but grafting across the entire width of a shawl it’s just too easy to drop a stich (which happened to me- didn’t realize it until I’d worn it a couple times, argh). I’m with you, it’s something I will avoid in future.

  3. Gorgeous! I can’t imagine that she won’t love it.
    I did that grafting thing once too. If it’s a clearly directional pattern, I can see doing it. I”m doing one of her stoles now that grafts across the center and am not looking forward to the chore.

  4. Beautiful!

    I am not a fan of the mid-stole graft either. I’ve done it a couple of times, and both times it didn’t turn out nice enough for my taste. I try to stick with stoles that only have one direction now.

  5. Oh wow Rebecca – what a gorgeous shawl…such a lucky friend!
    I’ve never grafted across a whole shawl -somehow I’ve managed to avoid it so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

