Drop Spindles

Next month I will venturing into the world of drop spindles and taking a class on spindle spinning.  I’m very excited but also very overwhelmed with all the spindle choices out there.  I have heard that spindle spinning is very versatile and is also portable.  I think it might be a nice change of pace to grab a spindle and take a break from knitting now and then.  That being said, there are so many things I want to knit that I sometimes feel like taking a break is an impossible feat.

Knitty has an informative article on spindle choices.  In this article it said that there are different weights of spindles for the different weights of yarns you wish to spin.  For those of you who love drop spindling, what weight is easiest to start with?  My guess would be worsted but it is only a guess.  Fingering seems like a nice choice to me but, once again, I am clueless.

I will need to bring to class a spindle (top whorl preferred and 2 0z. of Roving.  Any suggestions?  Spindles?  Roving?  Books?

10 thoughts on “Drop Spindles

  1. I can’t help with the spindle, but some nice Corriedale is what I would suggest for a beginning fiber. Romney would work well, also.

    Have fun!

  2. I do not have a great suggestion for the weight of the drop spindle for you, but I do have a good book to recommend. Spinning in the Old Way by Priscilla Gibson-Roberts is a great resource. I definitely agree with Becky’s fiber suggestions.

  3. I never suceeded with spindle spinning so good luck! Pencil Roving is often recommended as it is very easy to spin. When I purchased a spindle kit, it came with Merino which is not as easy to spin as Pencil Roving.

    Once you start spinning with a spindle, I wonder how long it will take before you buy a wheel.(LOL)

  4. My experience with the spindle was pretty limited; I basically hopped right onto the wheel with my spinning. But I won a pretty little spindle in last year’s Tour de Fleece, so one of my goals for this year is to practice using it!

    I don’t have any specific advice, but I can tell you that there’s an article on selecting a good spindle for you in the most recent issue of Spin-Off magazine. If you can get a copy, that article (as well as the other articles in the magazine) might be helpful. The spinning groups on Ravelry are also wonderful — I know there is a spindlers group specifically, too.

  5. I would play around with the spindles to find the weight you like. Spend time just spinning it on a leader line. I personally like heavier spindles, but I also pretty much jumped right to the spinning wheel.

  6. Oh my. I adore my spindles. I have half a dozen, and fiber projects on all of them. I love my wheel, but really, if it came right down to it and I had to pick one, I’d choose a spindle. Try a Bosworth midi. Or a Cascade Mt. St. Helens, probably one of my favorites. Try something about 3/4 ounce to an ounce and a half to start, but expect to get addicted and want a range of weights.

    Check out the Ravelry Spindle Candy group.
    http://www.ravelry.com/groups/spindle-candy

  7. How wonderful that you want to learn to spin(or do you already with a wheel? I apologize if the answer is in your archives of blog which I haven’t seen). I learned to spin on a spindle, and went to a wheel right away, and though I had tried spindling a few times, I now realize why I didnt’ really do well with it ~ and that is because I too was clueless as to which kind. I thought there only to be one kind, for everything, now I see I was in the dark. My DH is building a woodshop, and I am anxious to inhabit a corner of it. I already have a long list of things I would like to make (wood buttons, lazy kate for spinning, niddy noddies , and well, drop spindles too !

    ~Jen from MtVeeder

  8. You are toast!!! You will become hooked like all of the rest of us. I am not a spindle spinner but I would also suggest the Corridale or maybe some BFL for fiber to start with.

Leave a Reply

