A Hike for Memo

As the years of motherhood pass swiftly by I have discovered that what I really desire on Mother’s Day, more than anything else,  is simply to be with family.  When my husband and daughter asked what I wanted for Mother’s Day I said, ‘A Mother’s Day Hike.’  My baby-girl delivered Chinese food to fortify us before the hike and she brought something else for me to use.

A new fanny day pack for Memo’s fanny!

I promised to tell you about the ’20 Hikes’ I plan to take this summer in the Colorado Springs area and this was the first, a hike to Lizzard Rock.  This outing took us over mild terrain to its namesake rock formation and we had great views of the Lost Creek Wilderness and the Sawatch Mountain Range.  The round-trip distance was 5 miles taking us a little over 3 hours.

Allison brought her golden retriever, Kappy, to hike with us.  She is training him to be a good trail dog and he actually did pretty good on this hike, although he kept digging under rocks and logs, lying in crevices and discovering sticks that were way too big for his mouth.

We parked outside the fence of the Spruce Grove Campground since we were just hiking for the day.

After crossing a bridge over Tarryhall Creek we passed through a short rock tunnel and took an immediate left onto Lizard Rock Trail.  The temperature (65 degrees) was perfect for hiking and the first couple miles were through open meadows with gentle ups and downs.

Switchbacks and a steeper grade began after 2.0 miles.  I always straggle behind the trailblazers so that I can stop and take pictures.  There were aspen trees everywhere and I can just imagine how spectacular this hike will be in autumn!  We will most definitely return in September to see them.  As you can see, the aspens have not yet leafed out.

The aspen leaves may not have budded but we did observed other signs of spring abounding all around us.

The Pasqual Flower is the first wildflower to make an appearance each spring.  When we see it popping up we know that there is light at the end of our long snowy winter and that warmer temperatures are around the corner.

As we continued to climb the views behind us became more and more spectacular.  The rock formations above and around us were beautiful, too.  I wish I could have captured the lighting on these formations.  These mountains are appropriately named the Rocky Mountains because of the abundance of these huge rocks.

Towards the top we had to stop several times to rest.  My daughter took that opportunity to snap a few photos of the old folks.

And I snapped some of her with the two men in her life:

To get to the Rock, we had to scramble steeply for 0.25 mile.  I really don’t enjoy ‘scrambling’ but when I got to the top the great 360-degree views of the Lost Creek Wilderness made the scramble worthwhile.

Don scrambles across the back of Lizard Rock.

We made it!

Get away from that edge, doggie!

My husband always rewards us with M&M’s when we reach the top.

This was a wonderful Mother’s Day for me.  I am so incredibly blessed to have two loving daughters and an amazing husband. And I’m blessed to have my own special mother who has always been my role model.

We were thoroughly exhausted at the end of this hike.  This hike was rated easy-moderate so I need to keep up the jogging to get me prepared for the more difficult ones.  If you would like to  see more pictures of this Lizard Rock hike click here.

Happy Mother’s Day!

4 thoughts on “A Hike for Memo

  1. I found your site on Ravelry. I loved seeing photos of your hike. We just moved back to Denver, we have yet to venture into the mountains. Do you have any tips for a family with a preschooler that would like to get out into the great outdoors? Or perchance know of a trail that would be suitable for our first venture out?
    Thanks-
    niney

  2. Rebecca ~ Ah, yes, the hiking, the second thing we have in common. I really, really, really am happy to see pictures of your beautiful family and the trail. I want to see more hiking pix in future, okay? 😉 I need to start bringing my camera for the Daily Hike I do, and darnit, I’ve already missed the peak of wildflowers.

    I’ll be posting more on your blog because I’ve decided it helps keep me focused on the lifestyle I wish to live when I seek out and correspond with similar women out there in Ravelry Blogland. Don’t forget me from DownFromTheMountain….

    Belated Hugs for Mothers’Day ~
    Jen from MtVeeder

Leave a Reply

