Dryad Beginnings

When I saw Brooklyntweed’s DRYAD I immediately purchased and downloaded the pattern.  I love cables!  I fought the urge to run out and purchase the yarn used in the pattern.  Okay, if I must confess, I went to the yarn store to see how the Berroco Blackstone Tweed felt and wasn’t thrilled.  Knowing I had some Queensland Aran in my stash that was softer, I resisted the temptation to break my vow to knit as much as possible from stash in 2010 and left the store with more money in the bank.

I absolutely love the green DRYAD and know that mine will not “pop” nearly as much.  However, I will have the satisfaction of knowing that I used yarn that had been in my stash for several years, and mine will be much softer.  This yarn is a deep purple that almost looks black.  The color is extremely difficult to capture with my camera despite all my attempts with various ISO speeds and bracketing………

So far, I have knit three repeats and it is ever-so-much-fun!  But before I continue any further I am going to swatch Dryad in some russet colored Rowanspun Aran.

I have only knit a few rows and I think I can tell already that the cables will show up better in this color.  Which one do you think suits DRYAD best?  The dark purple or the russet?

11 thoughts on “Dryad Beginnings

  1. I did the same about the pattern. The minute I saw it I knew I had to knit that scarf and bought it. This is where we split. I went and bought the Blackstone Tweed in the same green color. I am hoping that after a good soak it will soften. I must have more willpower to knit from the stash! lol Your scarf looks beautiful!

  2. I did the same thing and plan to go through my stash to see what I can use. I am
    really trying to behave and use yarn from my stash although I love the color Jared
    used. I think the Juneberry Triangle Shawl is absolutely gorgeous and a real
    heirloom. Can’t wait to purchase that pattern~

  3. I like the russet. As I think you have concluded, it makes the cables pop more than the purple. I love dark colors, especially purple, however they rarely show a pattern well. I think I am going to see what my stash has ’cause I need to make that scarf for one of my neices.

    • Oh Aunt B you don’t have to do that for me….I mean I hardly ever see you it’s really not necessary! LOL!! hope you love my sarcasm and on that note I’d say the Russet makes it pop more….now that you’ve done so much of it in Purple.

  4. I think the russet will be a better choice as the cables are really prominent & the red is so rich & warm. Happy knitting.

Leave a Reply

