Sadly….No Bluebonnets

We just got back from visiting family in Texas and sadly, there were no bluebonnets to be seen.  There were signs of spring everywhere but no bluebonnets.  It was nice to go outside without bundling up in coats, scarves and mittens!

Mom and I sitting in our front row seats for Phantom

Allison and her Nana at a Cajun restaurant in Dallas

The positives were spending time with family, taking my mother to see Phantom of the Opera, visiting old familiar places in Dallas including the church where my husband and I met and were married.  The negatives were visiting the Urgent Care for a bladder infection, getting addicted to Words with Friends and realizing that I’m not as good a runner as I thought I was.  The latter was discovered when I attempted my running routine on hard pavement.  It is much easier to run on a treadmill!

A trip to Texas is never complete for me without a visit to the LYS, Rose Path Weavers.  There being absolutely no room in my carry-on suitcase for stash enhancement, I had determined beforehand that I would not purchase any yarn.  But when my mother saw a ruffled scarf she wanted me to make I couldn’t resist.  What is one little ball stuffed into a suitcase?  The scarf she wants will be knit with this crazy yarn and the method is ingenious but more on that in another post.

Last month my daughter gave her Malabrigo Koolhaas away to an admiring friend so I let her pick out yarn so I could knit a replacement.  She chose  a gorgeous Manos del Uruguay yarn in a brick red shade.  Replacement yarn doesn’t count as a ‘real’ yarn purchase, does it?

My mother bought me a Lantern Moon project bag.  A simple bag for a small project.  Hmm….maybe I should use my Kaffe Fasset fabric to make some more…….

Actually, this little bag is already stuffed with yarn for my next sock project waiting for April Fools Day to arrive.

I’m really looking forward to knitting those stranded color socks but for now, I will continue working on the Seraphim Shawl. Gosh, it sure is hard to stay focused but it does help to have a pretty pair of Harmony needles!

This shawl is being knit with the exact Dream in Color Smooshy that the pattern features but at this point I am not too enamored with this yarn.  I’ve about decided that I prefer lace-weight yarn for shawls.  Here is the designer modeling the Seraphim Shawl so I’m hoping mine will look like this.

Home again, the husband is getting the firewood in the fireplace ready for another snowstorm…..sigh.

5 thoughts on “Sadly….No Bluebonnets

  1. It’s so nice to spend time with family. I hope to visit my mum this Christmas as I have not seen her for 2 years. Love the color of your shawl & I love the harmony needles too .

  2. Sounds like, for the most part, it was a nice visit with the family. Hope you’re feeling better!

    I have to tell you that while I do prefer knitting shawls with laceweight yarn, my Seraphim (in sock yarn) is probably my warmest, so there is something to be said for knitting shawls with slightly heavier yarn.

  3. I am positive your shawl will look every bit as good as the modelled one.

    I have harmony needles too and love to use them except when the cable comes out of them. Thank goodness it doesn’t happen very often.

  4. Sounds like a great trip!

    I like the upcoming and current knits.

    Your shawl will be great. I am a big fan of using laceweight for my shawls, too. I love the colors in the yarn you are using, and even though it is heavier than you prefer, I know it is going to be wonderful.

Leave a Reply

