Selbuvotter to the Podium

The black and white Selbuvotter have finished their events and Gold Metals have been awarded, two of them.  I will wear them with Olympic pride because I pushed myself through a challenge and the mittens are a perfect fit!

Is that a rainbow over Olympic stadium??  Surely it’s got to be the glow from this event!!  Or perhaps my face is radiant because I have found yet another item I like to knit which can easily become an obsession. I now want to knit ALL 30 of the Selbu patterns in Terri Shea’s Selbuvotter: Biography of a Knitting Tradition.

What started as a dare between a woman and her employer became an icon of Norwegian knitting and started a “snowball of knitting traditions across the North Atlantic.”  But I won’t spoil the story for you because you really must read the story of Selbu knitting yourself!  I’ve had the book for a couple years and this was the first time I’d actually opened and read  the history section.  I found it quite fascinating!

Pattern: NHM #3

Yarn: KnitPicks Essential (black) and Bare (natural)

Needles: 2.75mm Brittany dpns

Start Date: February 12, 2010 during Olympic Opening Ceremonies

Completion Date: February 20, 2010 watching Apolo Ohno win a Bronze Metal

GO Team Colorado !

12 thoughts on “Selbuvotter to the Podium

  1. Now you have inspired me to try my hand at knitting
    those mittens after purchasing the book! They are
    gorgeous! Congratulations!! Your work is lovely.

  2. I read all the history the day I got it, but didn’t start any socks until this year – and I feel the same way you do – I want to knit them all.
    Yours are classic a beautiful!

  3. The mittens are so, so pretty. I got the book at Christmas time and haven’t knit from it yet. This makes me want to dive into it this evening. I would be interested in hearing how well the yarn holds up over time. I’ve never used it but it certainly looks lovely in the photo!

Leave a Reply

