Nisse Busy Knitting

This nisse is burning the night oil and busy finishing up Christmas presents as I know many of you are.  When I thought there was light at the end of the tunnel I found out that my daughter’s roommate might be spending Christmas day with us.  She told me that her friend loves hand knit items and sweetly suggested I knit her a ‘green’ hat.  Not wanting to pass up a chance to knit with Malabrigo yarn, I dashed to the LYS to see what green loveliness I could find.

With a stack of Harry Potter movies before me and an endless pot of tea, this luscious yarn will become another Koolhaas Hat.  I’m probably crazy to select a pattern with so many fidgety stitches but I have visions of Koolhaas stuck in my brain.

I shipped off other presents yesterday to Texas, a Thorpe for my nephew and a Fruit of the Vine scarf for my mother. You guys were so sweet to recommend other bulky-weight yarn for me when I knit my first Thorpe and I tried the Lamb’s Pride Bulky.  I love it!  However, I wasn’t altogether satisfied with the KnitPicks Alpaca Cloud I chose for Mom’s scarf .  The color is pretty but it pooled and the yarn is not as soft as I had hoped it would be.  I’m sure my mom will love it because I made it for her but I want to use something luxurious for her next gift!

Hope everyone has finished, or are close to finishing your own Christmas knitting projects.  I’m more than ready to knit something for myself and will most likely be a very self-centered knitter come January.

7 thoughts on “Nisse Busy Knitting

  1. I love the green – that’s going to be a very pretty hat!

    Great thorpe, and the shawl is so pretty – I’m sure your Mom will love it.

    I’m almost finished my knitting – and I’m going to be very happy to be done with it and back to knitting without deadlines.

    Happy Holidays!

  2. Beautiful knits! And I love the green shade of the hat (may have to make one for myself now …).

    Have a Merry Christmas – I hope you and your family have a wonderful time together and that you are all blessed in the new year!

  3. I absolutely love the burgundy hat. Looking at your knits makes me want to start knitting, everything is so beautiful! (not that I would ever be as good as you are) I just decided that will be my new years resolution to take up knitting! Can you suggest a book for beginners that is easy to understand?

  4. Your Mom’s shawl is very pretty and so are both hats. Good luck with your last minute knitting! I finished quite awhile ago and now am practicing spinning on my new wheel.

Leave a Reply

