Two Sock Tuesday ~ Snowflakes and Heels

I continue to progress on the Sock Knitters Anonymous challenges for both October and November although time is quickly running out for the Damask Rose Stocking.  I really must finish it this week in order to make the challenge deadline.  I managed to figure out the funky heel on the pattern but can’t say that I’m crazy about it.  It bulks up a little bit too much for my liking. In hind sight I should have modified the pattern to a traditional heel.  I gave the heel a good misting this morning and then pounded it with a towel.   Here it dries on my countertop waiting for ten more rounds.  After these rounds I will work the toe and then the Damask Rose will be done just in time to be hung.  Well, almost done.  It  will till need an attached i-cord at the top of the leg.

I did finish one Snowflake Sock.  Isn’t it pretty?

I had to shorten the pattern considerably because of row gauge.  The Dale of Norway Heilo knit at a greater gauge than the yarn used by the designer.  I eliminated half of a snowflake.

These will be nice socks to wear on a very cold night.  I could have used the second one last night since the temperature outside dipped into single digits!

7 thoughts on “Two Sock Tuesday ~ Snowflakes and Heels

Leave a Reply

