The Emerald City – Part I

My husband is a corporate  manager at a senior level and with that job comes much stress and many long hours.  He has very little time to play.  When we first moved up into the Rockies he had planned to hike and go fly fishing on his weekends but that has never happened.  The project implementations never seem to cease and they somehow find a way to creep into our weekends.  The only way that he can get away completely from all the stress is to take to sea.  It is only when we are out on the ocean that his Blackberry stops vibrating.

Fortunately, each year brings with it more vacation time and, when his stress level gets to where he just can’t take it anymore, we take to port.  When one of our favorite ministries announced a four day cruise to the Puget Sound with a couple of our favorite speakers, we jumped at the opportunity to sign up.  We decided to extend our trip and flew in a few days early to spend a weekend in Seattle.

On the flight to Seattle I listened to an interview with Lorna Miser on a KnitPicks podcast.  She spoke of a ‘traveling blanket’ she knit while collecting yarn in Scotland for a month.  Each square was filled with memories of where she was and who she spoke to as she knit it.  I thought this was a very cool idea, especially since I love traveling.  My husband liked the idea, too.  We decided that our ‘traveling memory blanket’ would begin with a Seattle Square.  I’ll tell you more about it later on.

The first thing the hubster wanted to see on Saturday morning was the Space Needle and we couldn’t have asked for a prettier day in which to see it.  The Space Needle was built to showcase the 1962 World’s Fair.  Have any of you seen the Elvis Presley movie, It Happened at the World’s Fair? The set for that was the 1962 World’s Fair in Seattle.

 The centerpiece for the fair, the flying saucer shape was chosen from many designs.  It wasn’t actually called “The Space Needle’ until years later when a visitor said it looked like a space ship sitting on top of knitting needles!  The observation deck offered some of the cities best views of the city, lakes, the Olympic mountains and Elliot Bay opening into the Puget Sound.

We spent some time just relaxing on the observation deck.  My husband is the ‘planner’ when it comes to our vacations and through the years I’ve learned to sit back and relax while he does all the hard work.  The only thing I requested on this trip was to stop at some local yarn stores.  He always does and excellent job planning so it works great for us! 

When we got back on ground we headed straightaway to one of the nearby yarn stores to purchase yarn for the SEATTLE SQUARE, square #1 of the Traveling Memory Blanket.

 The Weaving Works

Lorette, fellow knitting blogger, had given me a list of her favorite local yarn stores in Seattle.  At Weaving Works I found some lovely Berroco yarn in a varigated blue.  I’ll be knitting mitered squares for this traveling blanket knit with memories.  I also bought some adorable Russian Birch needles that I will call my Space Needles.  This is a fiber rich city indeed!

Pikes Place Market

Seattle’s primary visitor destination is the Pikes Place Market.  Around one hundred farmers bring fresh produce to the market.  The market has become famous for its other attractions – including eccentric and individually owned stalls.

Most of the fruit and vegetable stalls center around Rachel the Pig, a life size bronze piggy bank.  Also in the market were gleaming ice banks of fish and, my favorite, one flower stall after the next. 

  

Cheap Flowers

We sure can’t buy beautiful flowers like this in Colorado for five bucks! 

Sleepless in Seattle

Scenes from the Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan movie, Sleepless in Seattle, were filmed in the Market.  Do you remember the scene where he and his son meet his “blind date” with the obnoxious laugh at the market?  Maybe the picture above will ring a bell.

Pikes Place Fish is the home of the “flying fish” and it seemed like their were more visitors with cameras than actual customers.  All the tourists had one thing in common though.  We were all waiting for a customer to purchase a fish so we could see the employees toss it from hand to hand.  After some minutes I finally settled for a “crab” purchase.  If you look closely at this picture you can see the crab “flying” through the air.  I think these two workers passed the crab back and forth like a football at least five times before it was wrapped and given to the customer.

The first Starbucks was opened in 1971 by three caffeine lovers who named their coffee house after the first mate in Moby Dick.  It was here in the Pike Place Market.  I really wanted to get a Pumpkin Spice Latte from it but did not want to stand in the very, very long line.  We were informed that there are over 200 Starbucks in this five mile radius!

We ended our Saturday with a harbor cruise on the Argosy.  It was beautiful viewing the city from Elliot Bay.  We learned that each ship pays $40,000 a day to stay in the harbor so they are quickly unloaded.  That would motivate me!  We caught a rare glimpse of Mt. Ranier which is only visible four months out of the year.  The Emerald City is known as a rainy city having more gray days than sunny ones.  Here in Colorado it is the exact opposite so we were thrilled to have two full days of sunshine while we were there!

Doesn’t my sweetie look like he is relaxed and enjoying himself?

7 thoughts on “The Emerald City – Part I

  1. I love the idea of a commemorative blanket. I could steal that idea but, since we are not travellers, I could make a blanket commemorating other life events. Like our baby just became engaged.

  2. Sounds like the beginning of a wonderful trip! And your sweetie does indeed look relaxed. I’m glad to hear that he is able to enjoy his time off. (I’m married to a workaholic myself, so I know all about the Blackberry buzzing!)

  3. Hi, I recently found your blog from Kelly at Celtic Cast On. I’m enjoying reading through your posts.

    What a lovely trip, I loved your pictures of Seattle. Washington is one of my husband and I’s dream states of where we want to live one day. Along with Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Alaska. We love colder weather.

  4. Looks like a wonderful trip!! I miss Daddy’s map-studying face… I’ve seen that look many times! 🙂

    The traveling blanket is a wonderful idea. I can’t wait to see the finished product.

Leave a Reply

