UFO Thursday ~ AT THE END OF THE ROW

I know that all of you have, at some time in your knitting life, told someone that you will put your knitting down and do something else just as soon as you get to the  END OF THE ROW.  Fortunately, my sweet husband is a patient man and knows that I cannot stop until I come to the end of that row.  He has learned my time-keeping system and says, ‘When you get to the END OF THE ROW can you please……’

Now the END OF THE ROW can occur every two minutes on some projects but then there are others, like this Oregon Vest, where the END OF  THE ROW took almost an hour! The band went up one side, around the neck and down the other side, miles and miles of corrugated ribbing.  Well, maybe not miles and miles but 378 stitches of k2, p2 felt like miles and miles!  It was such a slow, tedious task that I stretched all 9 rows out over the week. That last row was a joy to knit because I knew as bound off each stitch I was finished with that stitch forever!

The good news about binding off is that it means you are finally finished with something you have labored over for so long.  The bad news about binding off is that there are a few loose yarns to weave in, facings to tack down and blocking to be done.  And that, my friends, is what I will be doing on this fine UFO Thursday!

Final Stretch!

Just need to weave in the ends, stitch the facings down, block and sew on the buttons!

22 thoughts on “UFO Thursday ~ AT THE END OF THE ROW

  1. What a beautiful vest!! I have enjoyed seeing your photos! Did you buy the yarn/pattern as a kit?? Where did you get it? I’d love to make a sweater version someday!!

  2. That vest is beautiful! Why is it that the very last part of the project seems to take so long? 🙂 Looking forward to seeing the finished project!

  3. It’s gorgeous & I wish I could knit one. I am waiting for the day when my husband will learn my knitting system & say the same words as your husband did.

  4. Truly inspiring and definitely speaks Of The Mountains ! I just got into Alice Starmore, also live in a cabin in the mountains, and am a dog mum. Just wrote you a PM hello note on Ravelry. I’m adding your blog to my blogroll (have left mine)… See ya around ~ Jen

Leave a Reply

