Swallows and Amazons

Swallows and Amazons is a children’s classic written by a great storyteller, Arthur Ransome.  For anyone who loves sailing and adventure this series of books stands alone.  The first book, Swallows and Amazons was written in 1930 in the UK.  I imagine British children devoured these books much as my generation devoured the Bobbsey Twins, Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys. 

I decided to visit this book again as I knit my Swallowtail Shawl, I’m kind of weird in that wayThe shawl is finished and on the blocking board.  The book is not finished but I’m in no hurry since I’m lost in the world of adventure.  Every once in a while we need to revisit childhood to gain fresh perspective, don’t we?

 

Now that my Swallowtail Shawl is complete I am all set to knit Ene’s Scarf.  The Knitpicks Shadow Lace yarn is wound and I’m looking forward to trying this yarn.  Knitting with laceweight yarn will be a first for me so I’m filled with some apprehension.  Wish me luck!

8 thoughts on “Swallows and Amazons

  1. Wow – the Swallowtail looks great & I love the color. I am sure you will have no problem with the 2ply. I am knitting the Feather weight cardigan with a 2ply.

  2. The Swallowtail is gorgeous!

    The most trying part of Ene is the beginning. Once you are through the cast-on and the first few rows, the rest is no trouble.

  3. Your Swallowtail is beautiful in red, my favorite color. I also started a lace stole using KP’s lace wt yarn. In the past it has been difficult but this time seems to be the charm. I am anxious to know what you think about knitting with lace wt. yarn.

  4. THe shawl looks good enough to eat. I just got an order from Knitpicks, with 3 different colors of lace weight. i’m not sure what patterns I will knit, am entertaining adding beads, but am at a loss to know how many beads to buy since I don’t have a pattern in mind. (Even if I had a pattern in mind, I wouldn’t have a clue how many beads to buy). The problem is, I live 50 miles from the city, so if I want to get impulsive and start a project, I need the stuff all here. At the same time, I don’t want an ever-growing stash of beads, either. PRAISE THE LORD. My life is wonderful if that’s all I have to worry about.

  5. Swallowtail looks fabulous. Good luck on your first laceweight although I’m pretty sure you’re not going to need it.

    I tend to do that myself – match books with patterns. It’s just a fun little added fillip.

    Your kitchen looks great! It’s so nice to have it uncluttered but it’s so hard to keep it that way. The tiles are exquisite. What a cool piece of history.

  6. Wow your shawl is gorgeous. I have found that I really enjoy knitting lace which kind of surprises me. I still haven’t figured out where to wear what I make.

  7. The Swallowtail is gorgeous! I have had Ene’s Scarf in my queue for a while now – looking forward to seeing yours – love the yarn you chose.

Leave a Reply

