Branching Out

When I need a little break from working on fair isle (Oregon Vest) or aran cables (Inishmaan), I branch out and knit some lace.  Actually, I’ve been teaching three friends and their daughters how to knit and their goal is to knit a shawl.  I thought it prudent for these eager students to work on some basic techniques used in lace knitting before diving right in to a shawl.  When I took a look at Susan Lawrence’s Branching Out scarf I knew it would be a perfect first lace project for my friends!

I’ve got two on the needles right now, one in Cascade Venezia and one in Elisabeth Lavold’s Silky Wool.  I will just show you the worsted weight Venezia one this afternoon.  BTW, their daughters are knitting shawls for their 18″ American Girl dolls and they are just as enthusiastic as their moms.  I’m thoroughly enjoying our knitting lessons!

There are 3,689 Branching Out scarves on Ravelry right now.  The pattern is available for free and was published in the Knitty, Spring 2005.

And because I continue to be mesmerized by the beautiful colors in my Oregon Vest, I continue to share them with you again……

and again…..

8 thoughts on “Branching Out

  1. I’ve never done Branching Out – but its been on my queue for quite some time – yours makes me want to cast on tonight!

    The Oregon vest is absolutely beautiful…wow!

  2. I just love the Oregon vest. Iwish I had some progress to show you on my cardigan, but too busy. The branching out scarf is so appealing, i downloaded it right away. Thanks for the glimpse.

  3. Oh, I could never get enough of Oregon either… So lovely, and the colours are perfect. *sigh*

    Oh, I’m really looking forward to seeing a picture of your Seaweed Wrap!

Leave a Reply

