Orchid Revealed

The Alice Starmore Seaweed Wrap is finished and I’ve kept myself wrapped in her all weekend.  As I’ve mentioned before, this has been my all-time favorite project to knit.  The warm and squishy Hebridean 2ply is now my favorite yarn, too.  I’ve aptly named this wrap ‘The Orchid’ because the yarn color is ‘Wild Orchid’ and, I must admit, I am a big fan of the television series LOST.  The Orchid is one of the Dharma Inititative sites on the show…LOL

When I wear this wrap I feel very feminine.  I think I am quickly becoming enraptured with shawls.  When I was a little girl I would often fold my baby blanket into a triangle and wear it as a shawl as we pretended to be frontier girls.  A feeling of warmth and security washes over me when I wear The Orchid.  I know it sounds strange but it is true.

Now………the big question………… to add fringe or to not add fringe?  What do you think?  Since this yarn came from Scotland and this is a Scottish shawl, fringe seems appropriate.  But then, I’m not really a great fan of fringe so am undecided and would love to hear what you all think!

17 thoughts on “Orchid Revealed

  1. Gorgeous shawl! I’ve had my eye on this one for several years but could never justify buying more yarn when I had so much sitting around unknit. Personally, I like the fringe, but from a practical point of view, I think the fringe might also function as a weight for the shawl’s ends. I might be wrong about that, but I’ve noticed that’s how it works for some of the lighter-weight scarves that I have.

  2. That turned out beautiful. Maybe I’ll be motivated enough now to start mine.

    I have a longish shawl with fringe… (Little Rivers shawl by AS) and I find that sometimes it’s so long that it drags on the floor or gets stepped on. I love the look of the fringe… but it isn’t always practical.

  3. Gorgeous shawl!!!
    I have 2 shawls with fringe – very pretty, but for some reason, I don’t wear them as often as the fringeless ones. I think your wrap is beautiful in it’s simplicity and I wouldn’t add fringe if it were mine 🙂

  4. Beautiful! I think I’d leave the fringe off. I suppose you could try it and always get rid of it if you hated it.
    Every time you post a photo of this, I’m more and more tempted to buy that kit!

Leave a Reply

