Babysitting

I had the opportunity to help out a young friend last week by babysitting her three daughters for three days.  As I juggled taking them to school, helping them with homework and mediating sibling quarrels I remembered how exhausting mothering was.  It is not for the faint-hearted.  It takes much perseverance and long-suffering. 

While the two older girls were at school I endulged in a bit of fun with the younger one… I tatooed her!

eyes-2.jpg

I want to encourage those of you who are mothers of wee ones to enjoy the time you have with them.  I know it is a weary road you walk but the road is a short one.  Before you know it, your wee ones will be grown and will have left your cozy nest.  Your time is well-spent when it is invested into the raising of a child.  Having these girls stay with me a few days reminded me of how my walls no longer echo with childish laughter or giggles.  These girls were a HUGE blessing to me!

5 thoughts on “Babysitting

  1. Isn’t it sweet to have children around for a short time?! Three days isn’t exactly short, but it looks like you spent the time well. That’s a cute photo.

  2. Well, since you handled three girls so well, perhaps you’d like to try your hand with my three boys. Come on over anytime.!

    What a sweet thing to do. It’s so hard to be able to get away when you have little ones. Knowing that they are in safe hands while you are away is priceless.

Leave a Reply

