Christmas is Coming

Christmas is coming and I am beginning to realize that a lot of my joy comes in knitting for others.  I had vowed to forego knitting for others this year to help decrease Christmas stress but now I’m plunging right in.  Forget the vow!

img_1012.jpg

Of course, the quantity handknit gifts I actually am able to complete will depend on how quickly I can get hubby’s Gentleman’s Shooting Stockings completed.   I hope he can handle this calf shaping on the backside of the cuff. 

img_1014.jpg

  • Size 0 needles 

  • Size 12 foot 

  • 84 st cast-on 

  • TEN INCH cuff! 

Hmmmmm…….he may be the only one getting a handknit Christmas gift this year!  Do I have to sleep this month?

15 thoughts on “Christmas is Coming

  1. I think that these socks are on the needles right now for a reason. They are there to help you keep Christmas knitting at a manageable level. Enjoy each loving stitch in this special pair of socks.

  2. It’s about this time of year that I hear drums beating…the march of Christmas Present!!

    Your hubby’s socks look gorgeous. What yarn is that? I love tweeds.

    I vow to start earlier next year! I marked my calender for May 1st!..LOL

  3. Don’t you just love how the men’s sock patterns always seem to have a ridiculously long leg? It’s like the long feet weren’t enough! 😉 In any case, I’m sure your husband will love them, whenever they’re done (says the gal killing herself to try to get all her holiday knitting done in the next week).

  4. Husbands are the ones that deserve our handknitting if they appreciate it. I am sure your husband loves handmade socks and they will probably be one of his favorite gifts.

  5. Those socks are lovley. I so feel your pain knitting hubby socks. Mine is 6’6″ and has a size 16 or 17 foot (depending on the shoe). It makes for endless sock knitting.

  6. The color is really nice. I am only knitting dishcloths for Christmas so that should not take so much time & add to the stress. I am sure you can finish the socks in time – good luck!

  7. Love that yarn! Fortunately Hanukkah is so early this year there’s no chance of my getting sucked into holiday knitting. On the other hand, my sweetie’s birthday is the day after Valentine’s Day. That might be a good sock knitting goal!

Leave a Reply

