Sweater Workshop – Cardigan Border

selvedge-edge.JPG

Sweater Workshop taught me something today that I wish I had known before starting my Central Park Hoodie!  Don’t you hate when that happens? 

Today’s lesson was on CHAIN SELVEDGES and THE CARDIGAN BORDER.  By slipping the first st of every row as if to purl, you will end up with a neat selvedge edge along your cardigan sweater which will make it easier to sew together or to pick up sts for a button band.  Of course, I did NOT do this on my CPH and all of you can pity me when I attempt to sew an even seam without having a nice neat selvedge!  Bummer!

THE CARDIGAN BORDER in my Sweater Sampler is worked on a mini version of a placket neck opening.  I cast on six sts and purled around to the other end.  Then, being in position to work the Cardigan border, I did so over the first and last 6 sts on the needle for four rows.  Here in the picture you will see I have worked 4 rows of the Cardigan Border and there is a nice neat selvedge.  Next up……BUTTONHOLES!

My question for all of you today is —-

Do YOU add a CHAIN SELVEDGE to your flat knitting so that you have a neat selvedge edge?

11 thoughts on “Sweater Workshop – Cardigan Border

  1. most definitely. I even try to add it to my designs. Though I have heard that it does not help when working with cottons and other plant fibers.

    I am sad to report that I won’t be making it to CO like I thought. I will be getting your monkey socks out to you by the time I get back.

  2. I have done it in the past, but I made the same mistake in my CPH and didn’t do it. It didn’t occur to me that I should have until I was done with the back, so now I’m just knitting as usual so the pieces will match up.

    I’ve found that selvedge stitches don’t make a huge difference in the sewing up, but they do come in handy when picking up stitches for a button band perpendicular to the original knitting.

  3. Yep, I do too. It does make a nice neat edge when you sew up the seams. I have to make sure to remember when picking up stitches to adjust the spacing accordingly. (Twice as many stitches picked up per stitch of base)

  4. I’ve never slipped the first stich on any of the children’s/baby’s sweaters I’ve made. I’ll have to try to remember that for the next time I attempt one – or if I take the plunge and try to make an adult sized sweater for myself! It’s a good tip, and thanks for sharing it!

  5. Catching up on posts here. I don’t use a chain selvedge either, but maybe I’ll give it a try. I do add a plain stitch (stockinette) to each side if it’s a pattern stitch, to make seaming easier. And I do my shaping increases/decreases at least one stitch away from the edge. That makes a world of difference when it comes time to sew.

Leave a Reply

