Sweater Workshop

img_9935.jpg

A while back I started working on a Sweater Sampler using Jacqueline Fee’s book, The Sweater Workshop.  With my current obsession with knitting sweaters I decided it was time to return to my sampler and learn some more tried-and-true knitting techniques.

Thus far, my sampler has completed the following workshop sessions:

  1. The Cable Cast-On

  2. Garter Stitch

  3. Stockinette Stitch

  4. Making Connections (changing colors)

  5. The Ribbings (k1,p1; twisted rib; k2,p2)

  6. Stripes in Ribbing

And, TODAY I completed the workshop session on SHORT ROWS.  I guess, when knitting a sweater short rows can be used to add extra length.  I’m not sure I would ever do this though.  Have any of you used short rows when knitting sweaters?  I understand why you would use short rows whilst knitting socks but I am just not getting it when it comes to sweaters!

Ms. Fee says that short rows in a sweater should be placed about 3″ apart and you should mark them with a safety pin so that they don’t end up on the front side of your sweater.  And, she says they have their limitations and should be confined to plain sweaters.

Well…..at least I’ve given it a try….don’t know if I will ever incorporate them into a sweater.  Next workshop – chain selvedges.

10 thoughts on “Sweater Workshop

  1. I don’t agree with the author. I used short rows quite a bit, even in my designs. It helps make a sweater go from looking great to being awesome and my new best friend. The reason being is that if you are larger than a B cup, you need to put short rows into your bust area so that your sweater does not end up too short. This is talked about extensively in Knitting Sweaters in Plain English and Big Girl Knits (I have it only for the wonderful advice on sweater knitting. None of the sweaters would ever fit me – so sad.) This kind of “dart” is called a horizontal bust dart (hbd) and if you visit the forum on Ravelry called The Bust Line. They are discussing the uses of this extensively. HBD tend to span the entire front of your sweater narrowing down to within a few inches of your bust points and then all the wrapped or yo st are picked up on one row.

    Ms Fee is only talking about the other use of short rows in sweaters. If you are making a piece in the round primarily, you would want short rows at the back of your neck so as the heighten the back of the sweater to keep the chill out. A good plus in those Colorado winters. Those would most likely be in the 3″ range.

  2. That’s a great tutorial & I have done that to learn knitting in the round & at the same time learnt quite a few things. The book has become my Bible for knitting in the round. I have only used short row shaping for shoulders so that I can keep the stitches live for a 3-needle bind off.

  3. I also have the “sweater bug” but have not knit enough sweaters to know about short rows. “Knitting Daily” recently discussed darts but I only glanced at the tutorial.

  4. Hi Rebecca
    When I started knitting, I got that book and that tutorial was one of the first things I did that was not a dishcloth. I look at it now and think I need to do another one because I know it would look a whole lot different. It is really fun for learning all kinds of tecniques.

  5. Sounds neat!
    As to your last post, I’m made a wallaby(for my son, washable is always nice) out of the cotton ease, its acutally quite nice for being 50% of the “A” word ;O)

  6. rebecca, i agree with chrispy, but i also use short rows instead of binding off stitches for the neckline. you keep all the short rowed sts on the needle, so when you need to knit the collar, you don’t have to pick up sts, they are already there, waiting for you!
    plus you don’t get the “stair step” look that you get when binding off for the neck. the collar join is very smooth.

  7. i used short rows on a boat neck sweater for mom to round out the shoulders. and i’ve known people to use them to make a little room in front for the “girls”

  8. I’ve read about people using short rows to make a collar lay the right way, or to make the back of the sweater lay flat. I knit a short row collar on my Something red cardigan.

Leave a Reply

