Southern Reading Challenge 2007

I am knitting, really I am! I don’t think I have gone this long without posting a knitting picture, ever. The WIP are just not in a stage worthy of pictures….but soon.

My trip through the South last month left me nostalgic and wanting to read some Southern literature so when I stumbled across Maggie’s Southern Reading Challenge 2007 I signed up immediately. I wanted a summer reading challenge and this one sounds great.

When I think of Southern authors the following names come to mind: Flannery O’Connor, Eudora Welty and Harper Lee. They are all wonderful authors and To Kill A Mockingbird, A Good Man is Hard to Find, and The Optimist’s Daughter will top my reading list. I want to throw in Christy because it takes place in the Tennessee Smoky Mountains, not too far from where DD moved to. I’ve added a few other books that I’ve wanted to read for a while although I think the summer may be over before I get to them.

SOUTHERN READING CHALLENGE 2007
  1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  2. The Optimist’s Daugher by Eudora Welty
  3. A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O’Connor
  4. Christy by Catherine Marshall
  5. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
  6. The Great Santini by Pat Conroy
  7. Cane River by Lalita Tademy
  8. Tobacco Road by Erskine Caldwell
  9. The Sound and Fury by William Falkner
  10. Life on the Mississippi by Mark Twain
10 thoughts on “Southern Reading Challenge 2007

  1. I love To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s been ages since I’ve read it. I’m going to have to see if I can find it.

  2. Don’t forget the most famous of all Southern authors – Margaret Mitchell (Gone With the Wind). I also like Frank Yerby’s works.

  3. The link for Southern books is a treasure trove! Thank you so much. I love Southern writing and you’ve introduced me to some authors I’ve missed.

  4. A list of Southern writers that excludes Nobel Laureate William Faulkner: inconceivable!! You must add The Sound and the Fury to your list. A powerful read.

  5. Flannery O’Connor is a favorite! What a genius! BTW…It’s “A Good Man is Hard to Find” and one of her other’s is “Wise Blood”

    Also–I know it’s debatable, but Mark Twain should be on the list! I’m a So. IL native, and that area considers itself borderline South. Plus, he’s a distant relative of mine….

    What fun!
    Suz

  6. YOu will LOVE Cane River. I have read that book so many times, and I never get tired of it. The mix of genealogy and southern roots will make it a favorite of your too!

  7. Looks like a great reading list. “To Kill a Mockingbird” is one of my all-time favorites, and I’ve been wanting to read it again since finishing a biography (very well done) of Harper Lee.

    Have you read other Falkner? My favorite by him is probably “Light in August,” though it’s been many years since I read it.

  8. I’ve read To Kill A Mockingbird, The Secret Life of Bees and Cane River. All excellent books and excellent representations of the south. Thanks for telling us about this.

Leave a Reply

