Plain Winter Socks Finished

Pattern: Gentleman’s Plain Winter Sock

Source: Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush
Yarn: Regia Jacquard
Needle Size: 2.0 mm

These very plain, mostly stockinette-stitch socks were not very exciting knit but who doesn’t need a basic plain sock occasionally? I liked the long ribbed cuff and knit on 2.0mm needles gave me a perfect fit. The only changes I made to the pattern were to cast on fewer stitches and shorten the cuff length because the pattern in the book is to fit a man’s foot. Oh…..and, I scrapped the Dutch heel shaping because I’m not crazy about those heels.

My next pair of socks will be knit using some Greenwood Fiberworks Handpainted Cotton Stretch Yarn. My Sockret Pal sent this to me several months back. Have any of you used it? I’m looking forward to trying something new in the yarn department and the colors are lovely.

TWIG sent me a knockoff Cinnabon recipe Saturday night and, ewe-baby, are they ever good! I made them Saturday night, let them rise in the refrigerator overnight and then baked them Sunday morning. They definitely surpass my own tried-and-true recipe! If you have a bread machine, you must give them a try!

12 thoughts on “Plain Winter Socks Finished

  1. Well, I haven’t gotten to the Plain Winter socks yet, but there is another month….We’ll see. Yours are wonderful in the patterned yarn – I think I would make the exact same changes if I make them.
    I’ve never seen that cotton sock yarn before – will be interested in how it knits up
    I printed off the cinnabon recipe – YUMM!!

  2. Your Plain Winter Socks look wonderful! The all stockinette is a tad bit boring, but the yarn you selected really spices them up. That pattern is my standby for socks for my significant other, who, unfortunately, does not enjoy colorful yarn like you used. Black and gray, always black and gray.

    I’m so glad to see that you’ll soon be knitting up the yarn I sent you! I was very tempted to keep that skein for myself, as it makes such delightfully cushy socks. The pair I made with my first skein of that yarn just got its first holes! 😦 I’ll be excited to see how the colorway knits up.

    Sockerina

  3. Oh my! I’m puffing up just looking at those cinnamon rolls. Yum!

    You’re a sock-knitting-fiend!! These latest are a gorgeous colorway. I like me a plain stockinette sock on occasion….
    Suz

  4. The socks look great. I started out with self-patterning Regia, and I still love it. Plus, I may be close to finishing my PLain Winter Socks . . . in the gentleman’s size 😉

  5. Gotta love vanilla socks!
    I’ve saved the cinnamon bun recipe, gotta use my bread machine I *had* to have some time! : )

  6. I’m drooling over those buns! Yum.

    I’m not a fan of the dutch heel either, but I do like stockinette socks (maybe because that’s because I have a lot of self-striping yarn?)

    My current SIP are plain stockinette (with a 2×2 rib cuff) in Opal Lollipop.

  7. Oops, hit ‘enter’ too quickly.

    How’s the Greenwood Fiberworks cotton knitting up? I have a gorgeous purple skein that my Yarn Aboard pal sent me.

Leave a Reply

