Irish Hiking Scarf Goes On and On

I’m still knitting away on the Irish Hiking Scarf and I am beginning to think it is the scarf that will never end! I’m so ready to move on to another project!

My nephew works faster if I sit with him at the table. I would NEVER do this with my girls but since he is a little pokey with his schoolwork, and I don’t want school to last until 4:30 every day, I have decided to sit and knit as he works. The problem? He is more interested in the details of how a cable is knit than he is in the quotient of a division problem! So, I’m not too sure my ‘knitting along with school’ idea is going to work.

I actually envisioned finishing this scarf today but then dear nephew reminded me that most people wrap scarfs around their necks instead of just letting them hang loose. Grrrrrrr…..another foot or two to go!

8 thoughts on “Irish Hiking Scarf Goes On and On

  1. I don’t know what the fiber content is of the yarn you’re working with, but I always find that I can get some extra length from my scarves with a good blocking — sometimes as much as a foot or more!

  2. It looks good- I like that color! I think Laura’s done about a foot on hers; it looks really good.

    I realized when we were eating dinner in Atlanta that I had three of my “protege” in the same place. They were all talking about their current projects… I was so proud!

  3. Rebecca, I know what you mean because I knit four of the Irish Walking scarves plus several pairs of fingerless mittens and hats to match. I loved the pattern though.

  4. Scarves seem to have a certain point that you reach and they never seem to grow. They just eat the yarn. Then magically they are just the right length!
    Maybe your nephew would be intersted in “knitting math”?

  5. That is the one reason I’m not big on knitting scarves, they never seem to end!

    Maybe you could work the cable into a division problem, for instance if I want to break up these 8 stitches into 4 groups, how many stitches in each group would there be. Although that’s not very difficult division, is it.

Leave a Reply

