Four Dogs and a Sweater

My in-laws are just the greatest “salt of the earth” kind of people. The only draw-back to spending time with them is that they have a habit of taking in every stray dog that they encounter. You all know that I have a dog, right? So, I’m not a dog-hater, right? However FOUR dogs is a bit much for me, especially when they are the sit-on-the-table-poop-in-the-next-room kind of dogs. Have I set the scene up properly? I guess I should throw in the dog hair for good measure.

In the past, I have always met the knitting challenge at the in-laws house with stoicism and armed with ziplock bags. I have been very careful to keep all knitting guarded in my the lap and all skeins under control in the ziplock bags. It has always worked, that is……….until LAST NIGHT!

We went for a drive to see Christmas lights at one of those drive-through Winter Wonderland lots and, before leaving, I made sure that all knitting was securely tucked away, zipped up and out of reach. On my return, I entered into the house and was met with some exclamatory remarks from my FIL in another room and my girls rushing in to grab me and steady me in preparation for the awful news…………….. “Mommy, the dogs got into your sweater……..”

My ALCEA! My gorgeous Alcea, that I had been working diligently on all week had been carried all over the house. One of the Addi-Natura needles had been snapped, the stitch counter demolished and, of course, all skeins were strewn from one end of the house to the other!

I took one look, went upstairs into a dark bedroom, collapsed on the bed and wept. My girls, after spending some considerable time comforting me, gathered up bits and pieces of Pine Spindrift and we then spliced them together. Fortified by their confidence that I could “fix anything”, I made my way back to a comfy couch to start the laddering process. My sweet husband thought he could whittle down the broken needle for me to use temporarily but was unsuccessful. The make-shift needle was just too splintery, despite sanding, and too short in length for comfort.

The wonderful news? All the destruction was on the STEEK alone which was going to be cut later for a cardigan band! I was able to rescue the sweater………..the steek doesn’t look as nice as it should but, under these circumstances, I’m happy I only had to salvage a steek instead of frogging a sweater!


And the moral of the story…………………….
ONE dog is enough for any good household.

15 thoughts on “Four Dogs and a Sweater

  1. Oh Rebecca – I cringed and covered my eyes….that beautiful corrugated ribbing! Thank goodness it was salvageable – (it did not look like it from the picture) yeah for steeks!
    The worst dog story I have is when my daughter’s dog pulled a lace scarf off and ate a pair of my Crystal Palace bamboo needles…it took FOREVER to get the stitches back on a needle – I was screaming the whole time!
    Happy Thanksgiving (I’m taking a break from cooking right this minute)…can’t wait to see the finished Alcea!

  2. Phew! That was too close for comfort.

    If it affects the closest set of ribbing, count that as steek stitches and increase more stitches on the increase row.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and the family, Rebecca.

  3. I’m sorry for your near loss, but a one dog household is missing at least 2 dogs. We have a 3 dog household right now. The most we’ve had at once is 5.

  4. God, Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to bring some less valuable knitting to my in-laws next year!!!! 🙂

    I’m glad that you were able to salvage your Alcea. I would have been devistated. Thank goodness it wasn’t worse.

  5. hugs Aack. Many’s the time I’ve had to rewind massive balls of yarn rescued from my own bad dog, but your story beats all. At least it’s a near-catastrophe and not totaled.

    And, I have to say, your family was wonderful to recognize the absolute seriousness of the situation! Good job girls and hubby!

    Hope all is well otherwise! Happy T’Day!

  6. Rebecca – Look at it this way, you have already been through the worst with that sweater, so the rest of it will be so easy and uneventful. It is good to get the trauma over with early. Yes, really it is.
    Honest, I’m not kidding.

  7. Oh my God. I can’t believe in this!!!!!!! I am not a dog hater, but if they ate my knit I would probably kill them. And it was not just a knit it is multicoloured-time consuming knit. I am so-so sorry.

  8. I’m so sorry! I’ve still got chills from reading that story. As a big dog fan myself, I think I’d have to have some serious time away from even my own dog if it did anything so horrible! I’m glad to hear that at least the damage was minimal, and if it makes you feel any better, your Alcea is looking spectacular even with the chewing!

    Your Sockret Pal

  9. Ugh!!! I am so glad that the dogs at least had the sense to destroy the part that would be cut anyway. I can just imagine the weeping, wailing, and gnashing of teeth that would have insued at my house if the same had happened. Sounds like you……and your wonderful girls, handled it quite well.

    I haven’t gotten back to you, my apologies, about your daughter’s job offer! Congrats to her (and you, because you raised and educated her)! Did she decide to take the GE job?

  10. Ohhhhhhhh….I was holding my breath reading your story. So glad you can salvage your beautiful sweater. Hmmmm. I have friends with dogs like that. I’ll know not to bring my knitting.

Leave a Reply

